Home is where the heart is

2014-12-14 15.08.00

I’ve had my fair share of adventures over the past few years, hell I’ve been around the world and back, new career moves, relocation interstate, I’ve seen life milestones come and go, major upheavals, massive changes, new challenges, dizzying heights and the low of all lows . . . But there is one thing that I cannot deny through it all . . .

There is no place on earth like Home

I recently moved back to my hometown of Coffs Harbour, there were many reasons this took place, but the most important being that I had simply lost myself, somewhere along the way.

I had lost my ‘happy’, forgotten how to smile, lost sight of those special little things that make me who I am.

In all honesty, it was pretty bad, I was almost unrecognisable – heck I even stopped writing!

I came home a somewhat damaged sole, a wounded soldier of sorts, life had chewed me up and spat me out with great vigor.

Here I sat a couple of weeks ago, on my father’s couch, knees to my chest, cup of tea in hand, wearing a heavy heart like a ratty old sash, strewn around me as though to celebrate something special but had just lost its glow and meaning. I was a sad old sack . . . not a whole lot of fun to be around.

A rather special thing happens when you return to the family home, to your place of origin. Much like a big ol’ bowl of mum’s chicken soup, it warms the soul and gives it that much needed kick into action.

In a matter of days things began to change, now several weeks in and I’ve been given a new lease on life. I cannot put into words the amount of gratitude I have for the opportunity to ‘come home’.

We often take for granted the blessing of being about to return to those we love, our families, our friends, and be welcomed back into the fold of a life we once shared. If my home hadn’t been here for me to return to, I could not even imagine where I would be right now.

Home is where the heart is . . . So pick up the phone and call home, jump in the car and drive around the corner, walk down the stairs and let your parents know how much you appreciate the loving, nurturing and dependable home they have provided for you, because you just never know what lurks around the corner, or when you just may need it.

The concept of ‘Home’ is a powerful thing, not to be discounted, or unappreciated. Coming home, be it for an afternoon, the odd weekend, a month, a year, for good, can be one of the most magical and beneficial blessings in your life.

Value it.

Hold it close to your heart.

Your home is who you are, the place where you will always be welcomed and will always belong.

Home Sweet Home

Leave a Reply

