From boredom, comes discoveries

stillways

This morning when I reached for my daily Pinterest fix I found myself somewhat bored with the endless collection of images on offer. This came as quite a shock, as I undoubtedly adore my morning Pin-fest.

Today I just wasn’t feelin’ it.

Reluctant to turn on the TV, I went on the search for entertainment and naturally gravitated towards the bookcase.

I LOVE MY BOOKCASE

Books have always been a love of mine, the smell, the feel, the brilliance hiding within the pages. I just love the allure of a good book and this morning was no exception.

During my time as part of the blogging team, covering the Byron Bay Writers’ Festival, earlier this year, I had the delight of meeting a vast collection of inspiring and truly remarkable authors.

Naturally I felt compelled to purchase their works to be signed and adored for many years to come. By the end of the 3 day festival I had more books than sense and vowed to make my way through the hefty pile by the time the next festival rolled around.

Until today, I had failed to touch a single cover.

This had to change, so I wafted through the stack sitting proudly on my bookcase shelf and selected the first book I purchased at the festival, Stillways by Australian film and television actor, Steve Bisley.

During his seminar at the festival, Bisley read a small section of his memoir to the audience and his natural talent for storytelling was evident from the moment he began.

I knew I had to own that book.
I was one of the first in the pack to have it signed.
We had a little chat about the festival and my blogging.
He was such a lovely man . . . and his nature is certainly present within his memoir.

The proof is in the pudding really, a couple of hours later and I had finished the whole thing, front to back, all 298 pages of dusty old childhood memories, of pain and family secrets, finding your way through puberty and the perks and challenges of living on the family farm in Lake Munmorah in the 1950’s.

I thoroughly enjoyed Stillways, every last word. For anyone in their 60’s (or for those with parents around that age) I strongly suggest you grab yourself a copy.

Bisley paints the most comprehensive pictures of his life and experiences growing up during the 1950’s and 60’s in rural Australia, giving life to his memories for others to enjoy. Being Gen Y, I love the insight into life before technology swallowed us all up and spit us out, Bisley allowed me a little sneak peak into his childhood, one that I would read over and over again.

Now all that is left to do I select the next title to be consumed tomorrow morning . . .  hmmmmmm, who will be my next victim?

Get reading people, its just MAGIC

 

 

Leave a Reply

